WILT #9, in which wildflowers don’t care where they grow

I’ve shown you our street before. It’s growing things now.

Is this what happens in the country? Flowers of all sorts just sort of… pop up everywhere?

This guy is all over. We have one in our front yard. There are many in the pasture down the street. They greet me on my way home from work, my headlights illuminating the crest of the hill at midnight.

I don’t think anyone put them there.

Not on purpose, at least.

And these little guys! By the roadside! Not a particularly sunny roadside, either.

Yellow flowers sneaking up on the other side of the neighbors’ fence. Did they start on the inside of the fence, planted carefully to beautify the view out the side window, and then sneak under?

Pretty and tenacious.

And I can’t just title my post with this lyric without encouraging you to check out the song from which it came. Here’s a brief taste: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I1JFGKzHjmI To complete the mindblowing, check out the incredible album Trio–a 1986 collaboration between Dolly Parton, Linda Ronstadt, and Emmylou Harris. I took that CD from my mom’s collection when I went to college.

4 responses to “WILT #9, in which wildflowers don’t care where they grow

  1. Time for a major weed-pull!

  2. I’m a sucker for flowers – I love color and have taken too many pictures of pretty flowers! My favorites here are the top, 2nd and 6th. Fabulous detail!

  3. Oh! So thats where it went! 🙂

    Beautiful, honey.

  4. That trio does a killer After the Gold Rush…

Leave a Reply

