reset

Routines change. An evening shift at work means morning free time. Until my wedding, that free time was talk-to-vendor time. Coordinate-with-various incredibly-generous-family-members-writing-checks time. Wedding-reading-research time. Et cetera. After a while, it became no-time-to-blog time.

But we have turned that corner, and with a new social title also came a change in season. It’s time for fall cleaning, and for thinking about root vegetables and roasts. Baked goods with ground cloves. We’re in that in-between place with the weather that makes it hard to decide how many blankets to use at night. Routines are changing.

I think about that trip my dad and I made out here when I was 12. I remember being sad to leave the Pacific Northwest–we had come in July and had straight sun, clean heat, wind for kites and waterfalls. Had we come later, say in October, I think we would have had crisp air with late-season peaches and lots of tea in wood-paneled coffee shops. I would have had my journal and a special pen from Powell’s. I would have written stories about a brave outdoorswoman named Trapper Joanna (more on her later) and overdosed on cinnamon scones.

I think I’m going to make that 12-year-old Portland vision come true this fall. I’m adding a new element to my fall routine. It’s time for chai and cinnamon lattes in iconic cafes full of barefoot hipsters and jittery geeks. Time to WILT while peoplewatching. I have so much to tell you.

Also, BABIES IN THE BACKYARD!!

One response to “reset

  1. Brandi Dawn Henderson

    Why in the silly world are those crazy hipsters barefoot?!?

    And, your blog ties a rope around my torso and tugs me westward.

Leave a Reply

