ah, sweet-tart roasted freedom

We moved!

Into a house we own. One we bought. It’s ours. I’m thinking it’s about time I change my cell number to one with a local area code.

I have some complex feelings about the whole home ownership thing, but most of all I simply effing LOVE MY HOUSE, and I’m swimming in ideas and excitement and crap in boxes. And until recently, mostly-green tomatoes picked off plants tended by the previous owners.

I wasn’t quite sure what to do with them, but I figured I had to do something before they turned to yuck. When in doubt, slow-roast. Well, I actually sort of  medium-roasted them. Here’s my method:

1. Quarter the tomatoes.

2. Plop cut side up on a baking sheet lined in foil.

3. Sprinkle liberally with salt and black pepper.

4. Drizzle a mix of grapeseed and olive oils over tomatoes. Well, I didn’t drizzle so much as sling. I had some oil slurpage to clean off the counters when I was done.

5. Pop into preheated 250 degree F oven for about 3.5 hours. I ended up using 1 baking sheet and a small shallow pie pan to fit all the tomatoes without crowding them too much, and after a couple hours I let the pans trade places in the oven. I find that this oven tends to brown things like CRAZY on the top rack towards the back, so I wanted both pans to get equal exposure to that spot.

Now I have these tart and sweet little umami bombs, and I have no idea what to do with them.

That’s kind of how it feels to be in a new house, too. There’s a lot of freedom, I sense, in a plateful of slow-roasted green tomatoes.

3 responses to “ah, sweet-tart roasted freedom

  1. Annie!

    You started a blog! Cool! I see that, as usual, I am way behind the times! Very cool! It’s so cute and I like your photos and hearing your thoughts and experiences! I need to check this out more often! 🙂

    Big hugs,
    Maggie

  2. I love love reading these!!! Your new place rocks and so do you and my brother. You two are inspirations separately and together!

  3. The tomatoes! Yay!

    Your house is awesome, and so are you!

Leave a Reply

